A new history based on a rich past

The Municipality of the Val-de-Travers came into being on the 1st of January 2009 from the merger of the former municipalities of Môtiers, Couvet, Travers, Noiraigue, Boveresse, Fleurier, Buttes, St-Sulpice and the Bayards. The history of our young municipality continues through these communities that are still very much alive as villages. This new organization is the basis of the future, but the history of the 9 former municipalities remains fresh in our memories.

Les Bayards

Back to the past

By clicking on the coat of arms

of different villages,

turn the page

and learn more about their history...

Key dares of the municipal merger

First steps


From 1996 to 2006, various committees studied possible political configurations in the district that would increase the political weight of the Val-de-Travers. Such a reconfiguration would also engender lower running costs and improve efficiency, effectiveness and increase the quality of services available to the population. This vision of a single decentralised municipality preceeded the draft merger agreement of the 11 municipalities approved on April 2nd, 2007 by all councils in the Val-de-Travers.

Eleven as one

June 17th, 2007, the people vote on the proposed merger. 9 municipalities accepted and 2 refused. Even though 64.46% of the voters in the district voted YES in the ballot box, the merger was rejected because it requires a unanimity of electoral bodies. Thus, on the evening of June 17, the conclusion was drawn that nine municipalities approved the merger by a clear margin. With this in mind, members of the Merger Committee resumed work immediately in order to swiftly put forward a merger proposal for the nine municipalities that voted yes. From then on working groups analysed the implications of the refusal of the two municipalities. Their pupose was to rework and adapt the project and to take into account criticisms articulated during the campaign.

A New Beginning: a merger for nine municipalities

On February 24th, 2008, the new merger was accepted by popular vote for each of the nine constituencies. Thus, the union of the municipalities of Môtiers, Couvet, Travers, Noiraigue, Boveresse, Fleurier, Buttes, St-Sulpice and the Bayards become a reality on the 1st of January 2009. 72% of voters accepted the merger and only 28% voted against it. The fusion clearly had majority support. Voting participation reached an average of 61.6%, a testament to the importance of the project for the population. February 24th is now commemorated each year to celebrate the new Val-de-Travers municipality.

January 1, 2009 official birth of the municipality of the Val-de-Travers.